2017 Volunteer Leadership Awards

The annual Leadership Awards Celebration applauds MIT’s most dedicated volunteers. Each year, volunteers are honored with the Association’s Bronze Beaver Award; the Henry B. Kane ’24 Award; the Harold E. Lobdell ’17 Distinguished Service Award; the George B. Morgan ’20 Award; the Margaret L. A. MacVicar ’65, ScD ’67 Award; and the Great Dome Award. The 2017 celebration took place Friday evening, Sept. 15, and honored the MIT alumni listed below. Read the bios of the awards winners on the Alumni Association website.

Bronze Beaver Award
The Bronze Beaver Award is the highest honor the Association can bestow upon any alumni volunteer. It is given to recognize distinguished service to the Alumni Association and the Institute by alumni who have been active in most or all phases of alumni activity and who have been outstanding in at least one phase. Alf K. Berle ’27 and Carole (Cac) A. Clarke ’21 were the first recipients of this award, which was established in 1955. 319 individuals have been awarded the Bronze Beaver.

  • Stephen D. Baker ’84, MArch ’88
  • James S. Banks ’76
  • Nicolas E. Chammas SM ’87
  • Stacey T. Nakamura ’80

Back to top

Henry B. Kane ’24 Award
The Henry B. Kane ’24 Award recognizes exceptional fundraising service and accomplishments for the Alumni Association and MIT. 117 individuals have received this award.

  • Timothy J. Aune ’85
  • Tamra L. Johnson ’01
  • Natalie Lorenz Anderson ’84

Back to top

Harold E. Lobdell ’17 Distinguished Service Award
The Harold E. Lobdell ’17 Distinguished Service Award recognizes service to the Alumni Association and MIT that is of significant depth over a sustained period. Lobdell’s interest and commitment to MIT spanned all areas of alumni relations. 329 individuals have received this award.

  • O. Reid Ashe Jr. ’70
  • Laurie Dean Baird SM ’92
  • John J. Golden Jr. ’65
  • Sara Michelle Adams Harton SM ’83
  • Agnes Ho MBA ’95
  • Arthur A. Katz ’61
  • Reynold H. Lewke ’76, SM ’76
  • James D. Shields ’71, SM ’72
  • Jennifer Yang ’97

Back to top

Margaret L. A. MacVicar ’65, ScD ’67 Award Recipients
The Margaret L. A. MacVicar ’65, ScD ’67 Award, established in 2015, recognizes innovation, dedication and meaningful impact for the Alumni Association or the Institute in any area of volunteer activity, demonstrating strong potential for future volunteer leadership for the Association. Recipients will typically have ten or fewer cumulative years of volunteer service to the Association and/or MIT. The first presentation of this award was at the 2016 Alumni Leadership Conference. To date, 16 individuals have received this award.

  • Arjun Dayal ’08
  • Pamela M. Gannon ’84
  • Samantha Marquart Brainard ’11
  • Aliza Blachman O’Keeffe SM ’90
  • Dominic A. Ricci ’99
  • Daniel J. Serna ’04
  • Oliver R. Smoot Jr. ’62
  • Narendra P. Tallapragada ’13 

George B. Morgan ’20 Award
The George B. Morgan ’20 Award recognizes ongoing excellence in all aspects of Educational Council activity. This includes dedication to MIT, an abiding concern for the interests of prospective students, and exceptional standards of achievement and professionalism in meeting Council responsibilities. 255 individuals have received this award.

  • Lola M. Ball ’91, SM ’92
  • Karen A. des Jardins ’81
  • Yolanda L. Hinton ’77, SM ’80
  • Gim P. Hom ’71, SM ’72, EE ’73, SM ’73
  • Carol L. Mohr ’87
  • Laurie Nisonoff ’70
  • Duffy D. O’Craven ’85
  • Christine M. Reynolds ’91
  • David D. Withee ’74
  • Peter N. Zacharias ’69, SM ’71

Back to top

Great Dome Award
The Great Dome Award (formerly known as the Presidential Citation) is the highest honor the Association bestows upon any of its organizations. Like the Bronze Beaver for individuals, this award is given to groups in recognition of distinguished service to the Institute or the Association. Prior to 1968, outstanding organizations were given Bronze Beaver awards.

Back to top